Two drivers to start from pit lane after parc ferme breach at Austrian GP

Mark Scott
A huge display is nestled on the lush green hills of the Red Bull Ring with a sign that reads #AustrianGP

Kevin Magnussen and Nyck de Vries will both start from the pit lane at the Austrian Grand Prix after Haas and AlphaTauri broke parc ferme rules.

Magnussen and De Vries were due to start from P19 and P20 respectively anyway, so both teams have taken the opportunity to implement a tactical penalty by making changes on the car for very little punishment in return

In terms of what has been tweaked on both cars, the list of changes is far more substantial on De Vries’ car compared to Magnussen.

一个文档的FIA revealed: ‘Set-up parameter changes have been made to car 20, driver Kevin Magnussen, with the approval of the FIA technical delegate following a written request.

‘Therefore car number 20 should now be required to start from the pit lane according to Article 40.9 of the 2023 Formula One Sporting Regulations.’

As for De Vries, AlphaTauri have reverted to a previous specification on both the beam wing and rear wing, whilst the suspension has also undergone a set-up change.

A new energy store and control electronics have also been fitted to the Dutchman’s ATO4.

Confirmed Austrian GP starting grid

1 Max VERSTAPPEN Red Bull Racing
2 Charles LECLERC Ferrari
3 Carlos SAINZ Ferrari
4 Lando NORRIS McLaren
5 Lewis HAMILTON Mercedes
6 Lance STROLL Aston Martin
7 Fernando ALONSO Aston Martin
8 Nico HULKENBERG Haas F1 Team
9 Pierre GASLY Alpine
10 Alexander ALBON Williams
11. George RUSSELL Mercedes
12. Esteban OCON Alpine
13 Oscar PIASTRI McLaren
14 Valtteri BOTTAS Alfa Romeo
15 Sergio PEREZ Red Bull Racing
16. Yuki TSUNODA AlphaTauri
17. Zhou GUANYU Alfa Romeo
18. Logan SARGEANT Williams
Pit lane Kevin MAGNUSSEN Haas
Pit lane Nyck DE VRIES AlphaTauri

Read next:Sergio Perez under fire from Red Bull boss for poor ‘teamwork’ in Austria